Search and browse page images of historic American newspapers from 1860-1922, including eight South Carolina newspapers; available online in Chronicling America, jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
"The Lift Every Voice National Forum is a University of South Carolina collaborative effort led by the College of Education and the South Caroliniana Library. Lift Every Voice will bring together experts and stakeholder communities to address the challenges of collecting, archiving, presenting, and teaching the history of the civil rights movement. The national forum, with support from The Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS) will take place on May 14-18, 2013, in Columbia, South Carolina, and will result in a collaborative model and action agenda for libraries, museums, archives, and stakeholder communities which will be disseminated nationally."
"The Lowcountry Digital Library digitizes and makes accessible unique local resources. In order to provide a well rounded digital collection, the library works with partner institutions in a collaborative manner to ensure the overall quality of the digital library. Moreover, it provides professional training and support for archive, library, and museum professionals throughout the region."
"The South Carolina Digital Library (SCDL) is a collaborative effort that includes South Carolina’s schools, libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. SCDL’s mission is to encourage our collaborators to create, maintain, and promote digital collections that represent South Carolina's historical and cultural resources while following state-level guidelines that are based on national standards and best practices."
"While South Carolina is perhaps most often associated with the Civil War, you’ll be amazed by the depth and breadth of our history, the number of remarkable South Carolina historic sites, and the extensive role South Carolina has played in shaping our nation."
"Established in 1855, the South Carolina Historical Society is dedicated to expanding, preserving, and making accessible our invaluable collection, and encouraging interest and pride in the rich history of our state."
The South Caroliniana Library is one of the premier research archives and special collections repositories in South Carolina and the Southeast region. The library's holdings are essential to the understanding of South Carolina and Southern culture over the past 300 years.
"StudySC is a website that provides online content to support South Carolina-specific curriculum standards. StudySC, created by the South Carolina State Library, makes available a student-friendly environment arranged by grade level and by subject area where students can find the information they need fast."
The University Libraries' Digital Collections Department creates digital collections and makes them available to enhance scholarship and research; to increase access to its holdings; to support the teaching and learning activities of the University of South Carolina faculty and students; and to promote lifelong learning by the citizens of South Carolina and the public at large."