Skip to main content
site header image

Google Smarter!

Welcome to the Google Smarter research guide.

Google Scholar legal documents

Google Scholar

You can search legal documents in Google Scholar.  Be sure to check the "Case law" button.  Google Scholar has acquired the "published opinions of US state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950, US federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 and US Supreme Court cases since 1791".  You can't search the cases just by "Googling".  You have to go to Google Scholar and choose "Case law" specifically.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Stand on the shoulders of giants.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.  In other words, Google Scholar exclusively searches academic and scholarly sources that you can cite in a college-level research paper. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Google Scholar settings

Google Scholar settings

Google Scholar is a handy tool for searching academic articles from a variety of sources across many disciplines. However, if you're using it from off-campus, you'll often get prompted to pay for the full text of articles. In many cases, these are articles that you can freely access as a student at Southern Wesleyan University through one of the library's many subscription databases or journals.

Happily, you can use Google Scholar's Library Links feature to explicitly identify yourself as a SWU student. This allows you to discover full text library resources directly through Google Scholar results.

To identify yourself as a SWU student, click the Gear Icon in the right-hand corner of the Google Scholar search screen. You should end up here:

Google Scholar settings

Click Library Links. In the Library Links search box, type Southern Wesleyan and click the Magnifying Glass Icon. This should result in a "Southern Wesleyan University, Rickman Library - E-resources @ SWU" checkbox.

Google Scholar library links

Make sure this box is checked and click Save. Now, when you run searches in Google Scholar, you should see a link E-Resources @ SWU to the right.  Login to the Databases at Rickman Library page, as you normally login to any computer at SWU.

You can also go directly to Google Scholar with SWU full-text at this link: http://ezproxy.swu.edu:2048/login?url=http://scholar.google.com/schhp?hl=en&inst=11997002586743729738.

VIDEO: Using Google Scholar

Scholarly Googling

Google ScholarHere's a link to Google Scholar that will take you through the library's proxy server and give you direct access to our holdings:

http://ezproxy.swu.edu:2048/login?url=http://scholar.google.com/schhp?hl=en&inst=11997002586743729738

Note: Google Scholar search box on any SWU LibGuide has the proxy server built-in.

Using "Cited By" in Google Scholar

Use the "Cited by" link to find articles and books that cite your original result.

The cited by feature is a great way to find more recent articles and to trace an idea from its original source up to the present.

 

1. Start by locating a single item in Google Scholar.

2. Look for the "cited by" number at the bottom of the result.

3. Click the "Cited by" link to see all of the items that cite your original item. Older and more influential items will have a higher number of "cited by" results.

You can limit these "Cited by" results by either searching for keywords within the results, or limiting the date range.

Google Scholar library

Google Scholar Library is your personal collection of articles in Scholar. You can save articles right from the search page, organize them by topic, and use the power of Scholar's full-text search & ranking to quickly find just the one you want - at any time and from anywhere. You decide what goes into your library and we’ll provide all the goodies that come with Scholar search results - up to date article links, citing articles, related articles, formatted citations, links to your university’s subscriptions, and more. And if you have a public Scholar profile, it’s easy to quickly set up your library with the articles you want - with a single click, you can import all the articles in your profile as well as all the articles they cite. Click here and follow the instructions to get started.

Here’s how it works. Click “Save” below a search result to save it to your library. Click “My library” to see all the articles in your library and search their full text. You can also use labels to organize your articles. To get you started we’ve created two labels, “My Citations” and “Cited by me”, based on your Scholar profile, if you have one. “My Citations” contains your profile articles and “Cited by me” contains articles you’ve cited. See the Google Scholar help page for more details.

Benefits of using Google Scholar

Google Scholar is wonderful, but it is not a replacement for the library databases

We recommend using Google Scholar to supplement your SWU library database searches, not replace them.

 Benefits of Google Scholar:

  • "Cited by" search results
  • Quick link to full text when you search for an article title
  • Links directly to Google Books
  • Ranks relevance differently than the library databases
  • Searches the full text for your keywords
  • Sometimes finds free full text for items not in the library
  • Comprehensive searching of scholarly literature beyond SWU for capstone literature review research

Drawbacks of Google Scholar:

  • No Peer-Reviewed Limit
  • No Full-Text Limit
  • Difficult to do more complex searches

Relying on only Google Scholar will cause you to miss important research, and spend a lot of time verifying if an article is peer reviewed. But, it is still a great tool for comprehensive searching!