Writing a Literature Review

OneSearch searches many of our databases at one time; however, you may also need to search discipline-specific databases to find resources for your literature review.

There are three ways to find databases that will be useful to your research:

1. Research guides - Consult the library's research guide in your discipline or area of study to find librarian-recommended databases, reference resources, and web sites in your field. The research guide will also give you the contact information for the librarian who can meet with you if you need further assistance.

2. Databases by Subject - This link provides a complete listing of databases in your subject.

3. Databases A-Z - You may find databases by name using this link.

1. Locate a database using one of the methods above.
2. Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates, types of resources (e.g., peer-reviewed, scholarly/academic journals), other terms, etc.
3. Use the full-text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article.
4. If the full-text is not available in the database, search Journals A - Z to see if the full-text is available in another database or in our print journals.
5. If not, there is an option to request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Need credible background information on a topic?  Search one of our reference databases.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is a collection of over 800 reference books, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks-- background information to begin your research.

Encyclopedia Britannica--Academic Edition

Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites. 

History Reference Center

History Reference Center offers full text history periodicals, thousands of primary source documents, and informational texts.

Opposing Viewpoints

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints provides information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to trusted websites.