Skip to main content
site header image

PubMed

Welcome to the PubMed research guide.

Welcome to PubMed

PubMed

Welcome to the PubMed research guide.  This guide will point you to the best resources available to you as a student at Southern Wesleyan University.

What is PubMed?

PubMed

PubMed (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed) comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. It is produced by the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and the National Center for Biotechnology Information. Coverage includes the fields of:

  • medicine
  • nursing
  • dentistry
  • veterinary medicine
  • the health care system
  • preclinical sciences.

Latest from PubMed

PubMed

Loading

What is MEDLINE?

MEDLINE is the largest component of PubMed, created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). More than 5,500 journals from the U.S. and >80 other countries are currently indexed.  MEDLINE is a comprehensive medical and health science literature database, including access to references from nursing journals.  MEDLINE is accessible from a variety of interfaces, including PubMed. 

Southern Wesleyan University has access to MEDLINE Plus with Full Text through the EBSCOhost interface.  However, it is suggested that you use the public search interface here in conjunction with MyNCBI.  PubMed content is updated frequently and, as a government resource, the PubMed interface is available to the public.  Thus, the search interface will be available to you even if in the future, you are not affiliated with Southern Wesleyan.

A noteworthy feature of PubMed is "MeSH" (Medical Subject Headings), the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus. It consists of sets of terms naming descriptors in a hierarchical structure that permits searching at various levels of specificity.

More information about MEDLINE can be found on the MEDLINE fact sheet.

About MEDLINE and PubMed

Medline is a database that provides citations to approximately 5,500 health, biology, and biomedical journals. It is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, and articles indexed in Medline are assigned Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) based on content.  The content of the Medline database is available through a few different subscription search interfaces-- the one you use at Southern Wesleyan is through EBSCOhost. 

The Medline database is also a part of what is searched when you are searching in PubMed. PubMed also includes citations that are not in Medline, such as newly published or still in-process articles (that have not been assigned MeSH terms yet). PubMed is a free database maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the National Library of Medicine. 

The content found in PubMed and Medline is very similar (but not identical!): Medline includes approximately 98% of the PubMed data. The major difference between PubMed and Medline is searching these databases.

For more information, visit: U.S. National Library of Medicine's guide, "What's the Difference Between Medline and PubMed?".

PubMed vs. MEDLINE: What's the difference?

Medline PubMed
Content All the citations that are in Medline are in PubMed. PubMed includes the citations from Medline and some extras (very new articles, articles still in-process).
Full-text Includes some full-text articles. Includes links to full-text articles if they are free.
Full-text not available? Use the "Check for full text availability" button to find out whether Rickman Library owns the journal electronically or in print.  If we don't own it, use the link provided to submit a request to Interlibrary Loan. Use the "Library Holdings" button to find out whether Rickman Library owns the journal electronically or in print.  If we don't own it, use the link provided to submit a request to Interlibrary Loan.
Zotero -- What is this?
There are a few ways to save information to Zotero from Medline. Click here for how to use Zotero with Medline. You can quickly add items to your Zotero library if you already know their PubMed ID. To add an item via one of these identifiers, click the “Add Item by Identifier” button () at the top of the center column of the Zotero pane, type or paste in the identifier and press Enter.
Search Limits Include date of publication; type of article; language; subject subset; studies by age, species, and gender of subjects; clinical queries. Include date of publication; type of article; language; subject subset; studies by age, species and gender of subjects.
Availability The EBSCOhost version of Medline is only available to institutions that subscribe to the database (like Southern Wesleyan University). PubMed is freely available to anyone-- it does not require a subscription, and you can use it even if you are not affiliated with Southern Wesleyan University.

What is PubMed Central?

PubMed Central

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection. Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed and is managed by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). As of September 2016, there are...

PubMed Central

What is CINAHL?

CINAHL

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) 

CINAHL provides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing, and the American Nurses' Association. Literature covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

In addition, CINAHL provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters. Full-text material includes more than 70 journals, as well as legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments and clinical trials.

Medical Search Interface

Use this special Medical Search Interface to search MEDLINE with Full Text and CINAHL Plus with Full Text simultaneously.

Medical Search Interface
Limit Your Results