ENGL 2053 World Cultural Literature

Dedicated to bringing the genius of Charles Dickens to a new generation

This digital collection was created to accompany the 2009 Poe Bicentennial exhibition, From Out That Shadow: The Life and Legacy of Edgar Allan Poe. It incorporates images of all of Poe's manuscripts and letters at the Ransom Center (some with transcriptions by the Poe Society of Baltimore) with a selection of related archival materials, sheet music based on his poems, and portraits from the Ransom Center collections.

The Internet Shakespeare Editions present this extensive site on Shakespeare's life and times.

The goal of the TEAMS Middle English text series is to make available to teachers and students texts which occupy an important place in the literary and cultural canon but which have not been readily available in student editions.

"18thConnect is an online finding aid and scholarly community in the field of eighteenth-century literary and historical studies. Also like NINES, we will be peer-reviewing digital resources and then catalog them in ways that make them interoperable with all peer-reviewed scholarly materials that have been digitized within our field, offering a kind of table of contents to the best Internet resources in eighteenth-century studies."

Bartleby.com publishes thousands of free online classics of reference, literature and nonfiction.

Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, the Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing.

"The mission of the CCEL is to build up the church by making classic Christian writings available and promoting their use."

The Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. The OAPEN Foundation is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague.

HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than fifty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.

Brewster Kahle is an inventor, philanthropist and digital librarian. His Internet Archive offers 85 billion pieces of deep Web geology. Check this out: TED video featuring Mr. Kahle.

The "Library of Southern Literature" includes a wide range of literary works of the American South published before 1924.

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

Annotated Surveys of Noteworthy Books from Around the Globe
The Library of Congress summarizes significant books from around the world that Americans are likely to have missed.

articles and reviews

Gale Free Resources.

eNotes.com is a comprehensive online educational resource.
From enotes.cam About "Our content is all fact-checked, edited, and written by professionals who are experts in their field. It comes from our in-house publishing unit or from Academic Publishers.

Current book reviews and articles

Representative Poetry Online, edition 6.0, is a web anthology of 4,800 poems in English and French by over 700 poets spanning 1400 years.

(Virtual Programs & Services, Library of Congress)
Library of Congress - Useful Guide to locating criticism on a specific poem.

Open Yale Courses provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University

Provides access to research tools for French language and literature, including French language dictionaries and other reference works, as well as ARTFL-FRANTEXT, which includes "more than 2,900 French language texts spanning from the 12th through the 20th centuries."

Pages on postcolonial authors, artists, theorists, terms and issues