Zoology

"The Cornell Lab of Ornithology is a world leader in the study, appreciation, and conservation of birds. Our hallmarks are scientific excellence and technological innovation to advance the understanding of nature and to engage people of all ages in learning about birds and protecting the planet."

AIBS builds community in support of researchers, educators, and scientists who understand the importance of sharing biological discovery and knowledge.

"AmphibiaWeb is an online system that provides access to information on amphibian declines, conservation, natural history, and taxonomy. "

"The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn."

"The Animal Diversity Web is an online database and encyclopedia of animal natural history, built through contributions from students, photographers, and many others. It is a rich and flexible resource designed both as an encyclopedia for exploring biodiversity and for use in formal, inquiry-based education."

The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) is a nonprofit scientific and educational organization. The Society's purpose is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology through publication of scientific and educational journals.

John James Audubon's original paintings of over one thousand birds (now owned by the New-York Historical Society), and the hand-colored plates that were subsequently engraved from them, are considered unique.

Biodiversity Heritage Library is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global 'biodiversity commons.'

BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of open access, online, peer-reviewed journals.

It is often surprising how difficult it can be to find concrete biological numbers, even for properties that have been measured numerous times. To help solve this issue, BioNumbers (the database of key numbers in molecular biology) was created. Along with the numbers, you'll find the relevant references to the original literature, useful comments, and related numbers.

BLAST finds regions of similarity between biological sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance.

"Welcome to CDC WONDER -- Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information."

"Human Microbiome Project aims to characterize the microbial communities found at several different sites on the human body, including nasal passages, oral cavities, skin, gastrointestinal tract, and urogenital tract, and to analyze the role of these microbes in human health and disease."

"Our web site is dedicated to bringing you the excitement, latest findings, and profound implications of the scientific exploration of human origins."

"The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information."

"The National Museum of Natural History (NMNH) is part of the Smithsonian Institution, the world’s preeminent museum and research complex. The Museum is dedicated to inspiring curiosity, discovery, and learning about the natural world through its unparalleled research, collections, exhibitions, and education outreach programs."

Welcome to Nature, the weekly, international, interdisciplinary journal of science. Nature is the world's most highly cited interdisciplinary science journal, according to the 2010 Journal Citation Reports Science Edition (Thomson Reuters, 2011).

Our mission is to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. Every article that we publish is open-access - freely available online for anyone to use. Sharing research encourages progress.

"PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). 2.5 MILLION articles are archived in PMC."

"SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online is a model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals. Conceived to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, it provides an efficient way to assure universal visibility and accessibility to their scientific literature, contributing to overcome the phenomena known as 'lost science'.

Scitable is a free science library and personal learning tool brought to you by Nature Publishing Group. It concentrates on genetics and cell biology, which include the topics of evolution, gene expression, and the rich complexity of cellular processes shared by living organisms.

ScienceDirect scientific database contains more than 10 million journal articles and book chapters.

SORA provides access to an extensive library of ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.

SpringerOpen is a range of fully open access journals, which cover all disciplines within the science, technology, and medicine (STM) fields, giving authors in all areas of science the opportunity to publish open access. The entire content published in a SpringerOpen journal is freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.

"Understanding Evolution is a non-commercial, education website, teaching the science and history of evolutionary biology. This site is here to help you understand what evolution is, how it works, how it factors into your life, how research in evolutionary biology is performed, and how ideas in this area have changed over time."

The National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC) was established in 2005 at the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA's) National Agricultural Library (NAL) to meet the information needs of users, including the National Invasive Species Council (Council).

"The USDA PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories."

"The long-term goal of the Visible Human Project® is to produce a system of knowledge structures that will transparently link visual knowledge forms to symbolic knowledge formats such as the names of body parts."

"The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories."

"Conceived by Mathematica creator and scientist Stephen Wolfram as a way to bring computational exploration to the widest possible audience, the Wolfram Demonstrations Project is an open-code resource that uses dynamic computation to illuminate concepts in science, technology, mathematics, art, finance, and a remarkable range of other fields."