Skip to Main Content

EDUC 3203 Introduction to the Exceptional Child

Welcome to the Introduction to the Exceptional Child research guide.

Education Databases

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text provides full text of articles in adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Education Search Interface This link opens in a new window
Use this special search interface to search Education with Full-Text, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, PsycARTICLES, and Teacher Reference Center all at once.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for educators, Professional Development Collection provides a highly specialized collection of education journals.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), provides full-text journal articles in psychology as well as behavioral science, education, nursing, business, neuroscience and more.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Elementary Education Databases

Britannica Animal Kingdom This link opens in a new window
Britannica Animal Kingdom provides access to encyclopedia articles, images, and videos on topics related to animals and habitats. This resource is designed especially for intermediate readers at the elementary and early middle school levels.
Explora This link opens in a new window
Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
This database is developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines.
NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window
NoveList K-8 Plus is a database for readers in primary and middle school.
PebbleGo This link opens in a new window
PebbleGo is a curricular content hub specifically designed for K-3 students. Packed with informational articles, ready-made activities, and literacy supports for students of all abilities, it boosts engagement and fosters independent learning in core subject areas.
PebbleGo Next This link opens in a new window
PebbleGo Next provides 3rd-5th grade students with hundreds of curriculum-connected articles designed for their specific research needs.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
"Primary Search® contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. This database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags."

High School Education Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A virtual reference shelf that contains information on thousands of academic topics.
Explora for High Schools This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints provides information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to trusted websites.
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
LearningExpress Library's offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the results you want at school, at work, or in life.
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center™ (LRC) is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 460 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, nearly 78,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,600 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,500 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more.
MAS Ultra School Edition This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS Ultra School Edition contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines.
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
"Help your readers find the books they will love! NoveList Plus makes finding reading recommendations easier than ever. In NoveList Plus, you’ll find fiction and nonfiction titles for all ages."
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Source is a research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content, including biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.