LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OERs): Find OER

Faculty Textbook Portal

Faculty Textbook Portal is designed to assist faculty in finding and selecting open and affordable course materials. Using EBSCO’s Faculty Select interface, the PASCAL Faculty Textbook Portal allows faculty to easily search and access quality Open Educational Resources (OER), over 400 PASCAL provided DRM-free e-books, EBSCO’s Open Access eBook Collection, and DRM-free e-books that faculty can request their library purchase.

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS)

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 52 different sources and contains 155,375 records.

OER Metafinder

Searches 16 OER repositories in real-time, returning the top several hundred or so relevant hits from each site. Created by George Mason University.

Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)

OER Widget

Enter an ISBN number and find free online course materials related to a book.

Open Textbooks

Open Book Publisher
An Open Access publisher in the Humanities and Social Sciences in the UK: run by scholars who are committed to making high-quality research freely available to readers around the world.
BC Campus
Curated collection of open textbooks for 40 high enrollment post-secondary subject areas. Includes reviews and up to date content.
Milne Open Textbooks
The latest publication in this pilot effort by the State University of New York libraries is Writing in College: From Competence to Excellence, which joins 14 other titles written by faculty and published by the libraries.
Project Gutenberg
This effort to digitize cultural works has been plugging away at its mission since 1971, when it undertook the creation of an electronic version of the Declaration of Independence, item No. 1 in its collection. Most of the contents are public domain books — both the obscure and the beloved. On any given day nearly 100,000 copies of books are downloaded from the site.
Wikibooks
Promising "open books for an open world," this site, which is hosted by the Wikimedia Foundation, offers 2,900 textbooks, categorized by subject, completion status and reading level. Many of the books are available for download as PDF files.
Open Textbooks for Engineering
Open textbooks for engineering discipline and some subdisciplines

Open Streaming Videos

YouTube Education University
Browse by disciplinary category to find instructional videos (mostly lectures).
Youtube provides a Creative Commons filter.
Moving Image Archive
Over a million free movies, films, and videos uploaded by users to Internet Archive. Many but not all of these videos are available for free download; check for the permissions information that is included in the video description to determine whether you'll need to contact the producer for permissions.
C-Span Video Library
The C-Span Video Library is comprised of streaming video with indexing and brief descriptions. Closed cations available.

Supplemental Materials

OER Commons
A large collection of open syllabi, lesson plans, assignments, learning objects, modules, textbooks, and more created by educators around the world.
MERLOT - Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching
A curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Open Course Library
A collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts, from Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges.
Saylor Academy
Online courses sponsored by the Saylor Foundation, including many that are peer reviewed and offer open access online teaching materials.
MIT Open Courseware
MIT OCW is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content, including syllabi, reading lists, and quizzes.
Khan Academy
Khan Academy offers practice exercises and instructional videos on a variety of subjects
Open Learn
Free learning modules and course materials from the U.K.

Open Images

Creative Commons Search
Convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations. Not all resources will have been distributed with a CC license. You should always verify that the work is actually under a CC license by following the link.
Europeana Collections
Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe.
Flickr Commons
Freely usable images drawn from the collections of numerous cultural heritage institutions including national museums and libraries.
Getty Open Content
All images of public domain artworks in the Getty’s collections. Roughly 4,600 high-resolution images of the Museum’s collection free to use, modify, and publish for any purpose.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
"NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more." Some of the images are subject to Terms and Conditions.
Wikimedia Commons
A portal from the Wikimedia foundation that hosts openly licensed and public domain images and media.

Open Educational Resources (OERs): Find OER

Search for OER by Discipline