Q. I am pulling data from our library website, specifically, Marketline Company Profiles. What is the proper APA citation to use for this database and source? Is there a DOI that should be used?
A. General Format:
MarketLine. (year, month day) Title: Company profile. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.
In text citation….(MarketLine, year).
MarketLine Company Profiles do not have a DOI.
Note: If you are referencing two (or more) reports from MarketLine with the same year then you could differentiate between the two by adding lower case letters (a,b,c) after the year of publication.
Two examples in APA style
MarketLine. (2013, November 15). China Telecom Corporation Limited: Company profile. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.
MarketLine. (2014, August 29). Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.: Is the SmartThings acquisition a smart thing?: Case study. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.
For more information on citing in APA format, go to http://libguides.swu.edu/citationstyleguides.
Local news can be an excellent source of information on small private companies and local business trends.
Scholarly journals and magazine articles are good places to find information about companies that might not be available elsewhere.
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source provides the latest insight into topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business.
Business Source Premier allows you to limit to specific publication types such as industry profiles, market research reports, and SWOT analyses.